David Chesky - The New York Rags

David Chesky - The New York Rags
David Chesky - The New York Rags
Item# JD359

Product Description

David Chesky's 21st Century Piano Rags

David Cheskyís series of 18 modern virtuoso solo piano rags are inspired by life in the bustling and intense metropolis of New York City, a place he has called home since 1974. The work seems to owe as much to Henry Cowell and Charles Ivesí use of dissonance, Elliott Carterís atonalism, Conlon Nancarrowís experimental piano rolls, Leonard Bernsteinís syncopation, and Cecil Taylorís whirlwind free jazz as they do to Joplinís ragtime classics. These pieces are taken from Cheskyís unique rhythmic and harmonic style of composition, fused together with stride piano and ragtime to capture the everyday life of modern pulsating New York City. This album was recorded in Binarual+ for both speaker and 3D headphone playback and has EXTREME dynamics, so please set your playback levels carefully.

Track Listings

1. Rag No. 1 "The New Yorker"
2. Rag No. 2 "The Bernstein"
3. Rag No. 3 "The Duke"
4. Rag No. 4 "Times Square"
5. Rag No. 5 "Fourth Street"
6. Rag No. 6 "Third Avenue"
7. Rag No. 7 "Broadway Boogie Woogie"
8. Rag No. 8 "Fifth Avenue"
9. Rag No. 9 "Grand Central Morning"
10. Rag No. 10 "Seventh Avenue"
11. Rag No. 11 "The Circle at Fifth"
12. Rag No. 12 "The Park Avenue Rag"
13. Rag No. 13 "The Thanksgiving Day Parade Rag in 7/4"
14. Rag No. 14 "Kids You're Late for School Rag"
15. Rag No. 15 "The Manhattan Blues Variations Rag"
16. Rag No. 16 "Penn Station"
17. Rag No. 17 "The J Walker Rag"
18. Rag No. 18 "The Coney Island Rag"