David Hazeltine, Javon Jackson, Tony Reedus - Sugar Hill

David Hazeltine, Javon Jackson, Tony Reedus - Sugar Hill
Item# SACD333

Product Description

Javon Jackson, acclaimed New York City saxophonist pays tribute to the legendary Duke Ellington. Renowned New York City pianist David Hazeltine acts as musical director and pianist on this release of inspired innovative arrangements of some of Ellington's most well-known and classic tunes. Available in multi-channel SACD, recorded using the world's finest custom-made electronics and Chesky's minimalist miking techniques to assure the purest, most natural sounding recording. "One of the fresh, creative voices on the scene today" - Ramsey Lewis "A player and writer with great respect for the melody, Hazeltine can be surprisingly inventive with the harmonic and rhythmic possibilities in a tune. Unobtrusive yet frequently exciting, Hazeltine always sounds as if he is digging what he's playing, and his approach makes well-known tunes sound fresh...." - Aaron Steinberg, Jazz Times "David Hazeltine is for sure the brightest star on the jazz piano horizon. His style has a deep- seated commitment to jazz history while communicating a wealth of 'today' ideas." - Cedar Walton

Track Listings

  1. Caravan
  2. Warm Valley
  3. In My Solitude
  4. Prelude To A Kiss
  5. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  6. Chelsea Bridge
  7. In A Mellow Tone
  8. In A Sentimental Mood
  9. Lotus Blossom